İzmir Katip Çelebi University

İzmir - Türkiye


Izmir Katip Celebi University was established in 2010.

Initially, the offices of the Rector and his executive assistant were located in two temporarily allocated rooms in the library of Izmir Atatürk Training and Research Hospital under the Ministry of Health. Carrying out meetings with the governor and representatives of other public and private institutions and organizations, Rector Prof. Dr. Galip AKHAN searched for a suitable area. The northern axis of Izmir was chosen as the campus site because there were no state universities in this rapidly developing area.

IKCU, having a concept of third generation university which refers to a university collaborating with industry, agreed in principle with the Ministry of Finance on the land of Balatçık Tobacco Leaf Processing Facility, next to Atatürk Organized Industrial Zone. Afterwards, the handover process was completed. When IKCU had been planned to be established within the boundaries of Çiğli Municipality, the 4th and 6th floors of the former Çiğli Municipality Building were allocated free for 5 years to IKCU. Moreover, it was agreed that, the time of allocation could be extended after 3 years. The 4th and 6th floors of the former municipality building were allocated to IKCU at the beginning of March to make necessary renovations. Moreover, Çiğli Municipality undertook the renovations of the 6th floor on behalf of IKCU. Assignments of the Secretary-General, heads of departments and administrative staff were completed and all administrative and academic units began rendering their services on the 3rd and 4th floor at No 951 Anadolu Street, in April, 2011. In September 2011, the Rectorate and all administrative units moved from this building to the Çiğli Main Campus. Within the structure of IKCU, the offices of Deans of Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Dentistry, Faculty of Health Sciences and Faculty of Economics & Administrative Sciences were initially constructed. In the following period, Deans of Faculty of Fisheries, Faculty of Engineering and Architecture were assigned.

In 2011-2012 academic year, in March, an application was made to the Council of Higher Education for the enrollment of undergraduate students in the Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Dentistry and Nursery Department in Faculty of Health Sciences. In 2011-2012 academic year, the permission to enroll students was given to the Faculty of Medicine (103 students) and Faculty of Health Sciences (103 students).

IKCU presented a project for the IKCU Central Research Laboratory to the Ministry of Development. The tender process of Aydınlıkevler Health Complex has been completed. Calls for tenders for projects of central classrooms in Çiğli Main Campus, the Faculty of4

Economics and Administrative Sciences, and the Faculty of Engineering and Architecture are being announced and completed these days.




Health Services Vocational School

  • Therapy and Rehabilitation
  • Physiotherapy
  • Medical Services and Techniques
  • Anesthesia
  • First and Emergency Aid
  • Medical Imaging Techniques
  • Medical Laboratory Techniques
  • Health Care Services
  • Elderly Care
  • Home Care
  • Child Care and Adolescence Services
  • Child Development
  • Dentistry Services
  • Dental Prosthesis Technology
  • Oral and Dental Health




1-Faculty of Dentistry

  • Oral and Maxillo Facial Surgery
  • Oral and Maxillo Facial Radiology
  • Dentistry and Endodontics
  • Endodontics
  • Orthodontics
  • Pedodontics
  • Periodontology
  • Prosthodontics


2-Faculty of Naval Architecture and Maritime


3-Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences

  • Economics
  • Business Administration
  • Public Administration and Political Science
  • International Relations


4-Faculty of Engineering and Architecture

  • Computer Engineering
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • Industrial Engineering
  • Food Engineering
  • Geomatics Engineering
  • Interior Architecture
  • Civil Engineering
  • Geological Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Materials Science and Engineering
  • Mechatronics Engineering
  • Architecture
  • City and Regional Planning
  • Aeronautical Engineering


5-Faculty of Forestry

  • Forest Engineering
  • Forest Industry Engineering
  • Landscape Architecture
  • Wildlife Ecology and Management


6-Faculty of Health Sciences

  • Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Physiotherapy and Rehabilitation
  • Social Services
  • Nursing


7-Faculty of Fisheries

  • Hydrobiology
  • Aquaculture
  • Fishing and Processing Technology


8-Faculty of Medicine

  • Basic Medical Sciences
  • Internal Medical Sciences
  • Surgical Medical Sciences


9-Faculty of Tourism

  • Tourism Management
  • Tourism Guidance
  • Recreation Management
  • Gastronomy and Culinary Arts


10-Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Balkan Languages
  • Information and Document Management
  • Geography
  • Philosophy
  • Traditional Turkish Handicrafts
  • Fine Arts
  • Media and Communication
  • Music
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • History
  • Turkish Language and Literature


11-Faculty of Islamic Sciences

  • Basic Islamic Sciences
  • Philosophy and Religious Sciences
  • Islamis History and Arts


12-Faculty of Pharmacy




1-Graduate School of Natural and Applied Sciences


a)Master’s Degree

·         Fisheries


b)Doctorate Degree

·         Fisheries


2-Graduate School of Health Sciences


a)Master’s Degree

·         Medical Biology and Genetics (Joint Degree with Süleyman Demirel University)

·         Anatomy

·         Physiology (Joint Degree with Celal Bayar University)

·         Nursing

·         Nursing (Second Education-Without Thesis)


b)Doctorate Degree

·         Oral and Maxillo Facial Surgery (Joint Degree with Ege University)

·         Oral and Maxillo Facial Radiology (Joint Degree with Şifa University)

·         Endodontics (Joint Degree with Ege University)

·         Oral Biology and Periodontology

·         Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics

·         Pedodontics (Joint Degree with Ege University)

·         Prosthetic Dentistry (Joint Degree with Ege University)

·         Restorative Dentistry (Joint Degree with Kırıkkale University)

·         Neuroanatomy


3-Graduate School of Social Sciences


a)Master’s Degree

  • Business Administration (Thesis-Turkish)
  • Business Administration (Non-Thesis (Second Education)-Turkish)
  • International Relations (Thesis-Turkish)
  • International Relations (Non-Thesis (Second Education)-Turkish)
  • Tourism Management (Thesis-Turkish)
  • Tourism Management (Thesis-English)
  • Tourism Management (Non-Thesis (Second Education)-Turkish)
  • Philosophy (Thesis-Turkish)
  • Financial Economics (Thesis-Turkish)
  • Financial Economics (Non-Thesis (Second Education)-Turkish)
  • History (Thesis-Turkish)
  • Taxation Law and Taxation Law Applications (Non-Thesis (Second Education)-Turkish)


b)Doctorate Degree

  • Tourism Management (English)
  • Business Administration (Turkish)

English Requirements


For information, please contact the university.

Tution Fee