Multimedia University

Melaka - Malaysia


Multimedia University (MMU), a tertiary education institution set up through Universiti Telekom Sdn Bhd (UTSB), a wholly owned subsidiary of TM, fulfils the noblest of corporate social responsibilities – taking up the challenge of educating the next generation the nation’s leaders and knowledge workers. As the first private university in Malaysia, MMU developed the pioneer model for the successful establishment of private universities in the nation, paving the way for the growth of the private tertiary education sector. As the university at the heart of the MSC, MMU also serves as a catalyst for the development of the high tech ICT industry of the nation, parallel to the Silicon Valley-Stanford model in the United States.

rowing to over 20,000 students in 15 years, MMU has achieved much in a relatively short period of time. The university runs in two campuses, its original campus in the historical city of Melaka, and the campus in Cyberjaya that was opened by the former Prime Minister, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed. It has produced 30,523 graduates in its time, and a recent survey demonstrates that 91% of these secure employment within 6 months of the completion of studies. It has also grown an outstanding pool of international students numbering at 4,200 from 77 countries. Establishing itself as a major player in research and development, and maintaining excellent ties with the industry through collaborations and research partnerships, MMU now hosts 13 Research Centres to date, focusing in the niche areas of nanotechnology, microsystems, biometrics, virtual reality, microwave and telecommunications, engineering, photonics, advanced robotics and business.

Through an organisation-wide policy of prudent spending and careful budgeting, the university successfully achieved financial independence within the first 3 years of its founding, and continue to be sustainable and financially healthy to this day. This is in spite of a recent infrastructural expansion in both its campuses during the period of 2006 till present, with the completion of the Phase 3 of development in the Melaka Campus and Phase 2 of development in the Cyberjaya Campus.

Cyberjaya Campus

As part of TM’s initiative to further develop the ICT industry in the nation as a whole, MMU serves to fulfil the nation’s human resource needs as it grows into a knowledge economy. The establishment of MMU as a research university also serves to benefit the nation’s ICT industry to be a creator and not just a consumer of technology. Through the establishment of a local private university, the nation can train its required human resources within its borders, a sound strategy from the economic management perspective.

MMU’s continued growth and sustainability is a clear indication of TM’s strong commitment towards the development of the field of education and research in the nation.

Melaka Campus

The campus stands on a 52-acre piece of land strategically located in the vicinity of serene residential areas, booming industrial areas, booming industrial sites and scenic Ayer Keroh tourist spots. Melaka campus comprises the Centre for Foundation Studies and Extension Education, Faculty of Engineering & Technology, Faculty of Information Science & Technology and Faculty of Business & Law.

Nusajaya Campus

The MMU Nusajaya Campus offers the the Bachelor of Cinematic Arts (Honours) programme as part of MMU’s objective to be a talent feeder into the nation workforce for the film and creative industry. Collaborating with the internationally renowned University of Southern California, the Cinematic Arts programme aims to develop Malaysia’s next generation of film maker.


To be a Top 100 University in Asia with Global Recognition by 2020


To bring together talent for Inquiry, Inspiration and Innovation (I3)


We Aspire To become a Top 100 University in Asia with Global Recognition through Quality Students and Staff Engaged in Innovative Academic Programmes and Research, driven by Academic and Commercial Revenue streams



Cyberjaya Campus


  • Faculty of Engineering (FOE)
    1. Graduate Institute of Engineering (GIE)
  • Faculty of Computing and Informatics (FCI)
  • Faculty of Creative Multimedia (FCM)
    1. Knowledge Management Centre
  • Faculty of Management (FOM)
  • Graduate School of Management (GSM)
    1. MBA Programme
    2. EMBA Programme
    3. DBA Programme
    4. MPhil Programme
    5. PhD

Academic Centres

  • Centre of Distance Education (CDE)
  • Learning Institute for Empowerment (LiFE)

Melaka Campus


  • Faculty of Engineering and Technology (FET)
  • Faculty of Information Science and Technology (FIST)
  • Faculty of Business (FOB)
  • Faculty of Law (FOL)

Academic Centres

  • Learning Institute for Empowerment (LiFE)
  • Centre for Diploma Programmes (CDP)

English Requirements

Minimum English Language Requirements


Scholarships: President Scholarship, Merit Scholarship, Skim Prihatin Pendidikan 1 Malaysia (SPP1M), Peneraju Tunas Potensi, other Scholarships. 

For detailed information please contact university.

Tution Fee

For detailed information please contact university.